Call now: 09891244487

Ask Our legal Experts, on issues related to Divorce

File Mutual Consent divorce right away

Call at ph no: 9650499965
Search On:Laws in IndiaLawyers Search

To Appeal before CIC - Central Information Commission
For Filing and Hearing contact: Choudhury's law Office
Ph no: 9873628941

Author Topic: NRIs marriage and epilepsy  (Read 1425 times)

Offline dee

• Newlaw
  • Welcome to legal Service India - law forum for free legal Information
    • View Profile
NRIs marriage and epilepsy
« on: February 27, 2013, 01:08:00 PM »
Hello There

I am an Indian citizen and Canadian Permanent resident. I got married to my husband in June, 2008 in MD, USA. Even though it was an arranged marriage, circumstances or probably other sideís desire led it happened in USA. We both are Hindus. At that time, my husband was on H1b visa and I was a Master student (F1). After 7 months of marriage, my husband had grand mal seizure. I came to know that he has epilepsy which is mostly under control with the medication. He had 6-7 seizures in his life though he had this problem from six months of age and had been on medication for most of his young and adult life. Though he had some accidents almost one year before our marriage and our marriage might be an attempt of keeping someone with him all the time.

In the meantime my husband has to move to Canada. I joined him there in April, 2010 and I got pregnant in few months here. To save his time, my husband relied mostly on my and his parents, who visited us from India, during my pregnancy. So many things happened during my second and third trimester Ė including him having another seizure in presence of my mother, his super superstitious mother (we are from Punjab and I was having a boy!!), bad OBGYN, overdue pregnancy, induction, intense labor of 2 days and ultimately c-section. I went into postpartum depression. So during maternal leave, I had some counseling sessions from a private psychotherapist. Finally I recovered.