Online Copyright Registration in India

Protect your creative work
Books, Songs, film, websites, Software, painting, fashion Design etc
Call now: 09891244487

Ask Our legal Experts, on issues related to Divorce

File Mutual Consent divorce right away

Call at ph no: 9650499965
  Search On:Laws in IndiaLawyers Search

Author Topic: what is the Rights of Author and Translator under copyright law  (Read 1358 times)

Offline maladhar

• Newlaw
  • Welcome to legal Service India - law forum for free legal Information
    • View Profile
Good Morning.
I'm a Bengali writer,More or less ten years ago I hired Tamil translator to have my book translated from Bengali to tamil.

The translation was entirely paid and both (the Translator and me) signed a Memorandum of Agreement, in which I accept to cite the Translator on the cover of the book, in all the advertising regarding the book, and in the copyright page inside the book.

The copyright of the work was registered Under the Regfistrar of Copyrights Act as derivative work of the original Bengali book with the Translator as Author and me as Claimant of the work.

The Bengali original book and the translation are still unpublished, so I decided to publish them as soon as possible on a e-book platform.

Now: the problem is below.
During this years I did in the original work some minor correction, as character names, mistaken place names and some removed sentences.

Few minor bugs that I wish want update on the translation and that I can do by myself without jeopardize (compromise) the translation.

The questions:
1. Can I, as Claimant of the the Translation, do it without the written agreement of the Translator?

2. If not, can the Translator refuse to do it to force me to renegotiate the conditions of the original Memorandum of Agreement?

Hoping in a prompt help, I remain.
Thank you very much.

Offline advkartik

• Veteran at Law
  • I this is advocate kartik, ask me your law query
    • View Profile