Call now: 09891244487

Ask Our legal Experts, on issues related to Divorce

File Mutual Consent divorce right away

Call at ph no: 9650499965
Search On:Laws in IndiaLawyers Search

To Appeal before CIC - Central Information Commission
For Filing and Hearing contact: Choudhury's law Office
Ph no: 9873628941

Author Topic: Foreigner marrying an Indian girl.  (Read 474 times)

Offline meeker

• Newlaw
  • Welcome to legal Service India - law forum for free legal Information
    • View Profile
Foreigner marrying an Indian girl.
« on: September 14, 2016, 08:28:09 AM »
Hi all,

Good day to all.

My name is Meeker, I'm holding Afghanistan passport living in Saudi Arabia. I studied my bachelor in India and worked for more than 2 years, my staying period was from 2010 to 2016 right now I'm back to SA. however, I have an Indian girlfriend and I want to marry her. can I know the legal procedure for an Afghani to marry an Indian? I'm also hoping to settle down in India - Bangalore. Please advise on the procedure and how long it might take ??

Thanks in advance. 

Offline advjaibansal

• Veteran at Law
    • View Profile
Re: Foreigner marrying an Indian girl.
« Reply #1 on: September 14, 2016, 06:22:07 PM »
Dear Mr. Meeker,

You need to take NOC (no objection certificate ) from your embassy. Then file a joint application before registrar of marriage in india, at the place where girl is residing under special marriage act for solemnisation of marriage.

There are documents and formalities but the marriage will be performed. Please tell the girl to find out from the registrar of marriage in her area, where she is residing.

Regards,
jai bansal
Advocate, New Delhi
Supreme Court of India
bansal.jai@gmail.com
mobile: 09868566649

Offline meeker

• Newlaw
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: September 14, 2016, 08:08:32 PM »
Dear Mr. Meeker,